Hollmann Environmental Award 9-25-17.jpg

The Jan Hollmann Environmental Education Award is given out each year to someone who epitomizes environmental education in Anne Arundel County.

The award is named after Jan Hollmann, an environmental activist who died in 1990 at the age of 44. Jan created the first land trust in Maryland (the Severn River Land Trust, which subsequently became the Scenic Rivers Land Trust). She also came up with the idea for the critical area law enacted by the state legislature in 1984. 

The Award Committee is looking for nominations for those people who exemplify the commitment to environmental education shown by Jan Hollmann. Click here for the nomination form. Please send your nominations to Pierre Henkart at by June 13th, 2018.

The award ceremony will be held on Tuesday, September 18th, 2018 at 6:30 pm at Arlington Echo.

Michelle Weisgerber, the Signature Program Facilitator for Broadneck High School’s Environmental Literacy Signature Program, won the 2017 Jan Hollmann Environmental Education Award for leading Broadneck to receive a Green Ribbon School designation from the U.S. Department of Education.

Past winners include:
2017 - Michelle Weisgerber
2016 - Deborah Rowans
2015 - Hilary Thompson & Ben Thompson
2014 - Carlo Martini R. Echiverri
2013 - Steve Barry
2012 - Kevin Maxwell
2011 - Suzanne Etgen